top of page
  • Writer's pictureAOD staff

J. Cole Declares That There Will Be No More "Off-Season" On His New Earthgang and JID Collaboration

On Friday (February 25), EarthGang will release their new album Ghetto Gods, which features J. Cole. Taking to Instagram on Monday (February 21), the duo played a full verse from Cole, along with JID who also appears on the track.

“No more off-season, it’s capital B on my car season,” Cole raps. “If I happen to be in the mall, you catch yourself lookin’ at me, then you’re stargazin’/Know we got one with me if your heart shake/Two face n-ggas get the business, I went from rags to riches/There’s too many bags, I can’t do the math, bitch, I need a statistician.”

Despite the song's title not yet being confirmed, it is known as "What's Up" on Genius.

It had been announced EarthGang would release the album on the same day as J. Cole's The Off-Season, but the date has passed. Currently, Olu and WowGr8 have released "American Horror Story," "All Eyez on Me," and "AMEN," with Future also scheduled to appear.

They talked about collaborating with Atlanta artists in an interview with Riff Magazine in October.

“In front of our neighborhood, we kind of realized we could tie it in with the Ghetto Gods theme by thematically and very deliberately paying tribute to people that overcame and became icons and legends in their own right,” WowGr8 said. “It’s a metamorphosis album, so we just celebrate people that metamorphized in ways that we admire.”

Olu added, “It’s really dope to have the city be involved with the album and champion the album and really get behind the momentum of everything that we’ve created so far. In a lot of ways, we always attack our production. It’s the soundscape to the stories that we’re telling and we want to make sure that it’s current but also experimental and that it has the musical elements that are who we are.”

After the release of Mirrorland in September 2019, Ghetto Gods will be EarthGang's second album on Dreamville/Interscope Records. The LP debuted at No. 40 on the Billboard 200 with features from Young Thug, T-Pain, Kehlani and Arin Ray.


bottom of page